Graves Announces 9th District Service Academy Appointees for 2011
Jamie Waterman, U.S. Coast Guard Academy is one of the appointees



Graves Hosting Reception for Appointees This Saturday --

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Rep. Tom Graves (R-GA-09) issued the following announcement that 18 young men and women from the 9th Congressional District have been appointed to four service academies:

“These eighteen men and women represent the best among North Georgia’s young adults, and we should all be proud that they chose to commit their talents to the service of our country. These students were appointed by the service academies because, through their community involvement and devotion to schoolwork, they have demonstrated the character and determination necessary to be the next generation of leaders in our Armed Services. I look forward to personally congratulating the students for their achievements and thanking their families for supporting them in this endeavor.”

Congressman Graves will host a breakfast reception for the appointees and their families at North Georgia College and State University’s Military Science Center on Saturday, June 18, 2011 at 9:00am.

What: Breakfast reception for 9th Congressional District service academy appointees
Who: Congressman Tom Graves
Service academy appointees and their families
Members of the 9th District Service Academy Selection Board
When: Saturday, June 18, 2011 at 9:00am
Where: North Georgia College and State University
82 College Circle
Dahlonega, GA 30597
Building: Military Science Center
Contact: Anne Marie Ducote, 770-519-4019

Each year, Members of Congress are charged with nominating qualified students to compete for appointments to United States service academies. Appointed students are awarded full four-year scholarships that include tuition, books, board, and medical care. After successful completion of four years at a service academy the graduate receives a commission as an officer in one of the branches of the Armed Services.

The 9th District appointees are:

U.S. Air Force Academy
Johnathan Beck - Gainesville
Jay P. Fullam – Rising Fawn
David Garrison - Cumming
Haley Jones – Cumming
Andrew Leeuwenburg – Gainesville
Christopher McNerney – Mineral Bluff
Landon Ralston – Calhoun
Benjamin Souther – Murrayville

U.S. Military Academy
Robert Barger – Gainesville
Harold Earls IV – Cumming
Alyssa Hanson – Cumming
Conor Monaghan – Gainesville
Andrew Olson – Gainesville
Robert Sagona – Cumming

U.S. Naval Academy
Matthew Carothers – Flowery Branch
Eliud Martinez - Gainesville
Samuel Murphy – Blairsville

U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Jamie Waterman – Jasper