Qualifying for Local Elections Ends


Qualifying for Local Elections Ends


Qualifying has ended for the May 22nd Primary/Special Election with local seats for District 1 Commissioner, Board of Education, and Special Elections in Jasper and Nelson.

The last day to register to vote in this election shall be April 24, 2018.

Advanced Voting shall be held Monday, April 30, 2018 through Friday, May 18, 2018 from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm with Saturday voting on May 12th from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm at the Pickens County Board of Elections and Registration office. The Election Day Precincts will be open from 7:00 am until 7:00 pm.

Below are the results:

County Commissioner District 1
Jerry R. Barnes (R) Incumbent
Bart Connelly (R)
Amberle Johnson Godfrey (R)

Board of Education Post 2
Joeta Youngblood (R)

Board of Education Post 3
Tucker J. Green (R)
Byron Long (R) Incumbent

Board of Education Post 5
Steven Smith (R)

City of Jasper City Council
Doug Patterson
Kirk Raffield

City of Nelson City Council
Nathan Hamby
(automatically wins due to only one candidate qualifying)

No one qualified for the Limestone Valley Soil & Water Conservation District.

No one qualified as a Democratic candidate.

Party questions will be submitted on Monday.