Chamber Staff Receive GACCE 2015-16 Scholarship Recipients


Chamber Staff Receive GACCE 2015-16 Scholarship Recipients


Each year GACCE is proud to provide scholarships to help Chamber of Commerce professionals broaden their knowledge of the profession and expand their careers. At the 2015 GACCE Staff Development Conference held last week in Valdosta, GA, the association was pleased to provide 35 scholarships to deserving professionals. The winners were announced at the event's scholarship dinner, March 4, 2015.

Scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis based on:

(1) the applicant’s perceived need of financial assistance;
(2) the applicant’s perceived dedication and commitment to the Chamber profession; and
(3) the applicant’s history of participation in GACCE functions and programs.

This year the association received 62 applications. The GACCE Board of Directors was able to award the following scholarships:

Two – for the U.S. Chamber’s Institute for Organizational Management (June 2016 session)
Two – for the American Chamber of Commerce Executives (ACCE) Convention (August 2015)
Fifteen – for the GACCE Executive Leadership Conference (July 2015)
Three – for the GACCE Volunteer Leader Conference (November 2015)
Thirteen – for the GACCE Staff Development Conference (March 2016)

GACCE was able to award eight additional scholarships than it normally would because of the generous donations of three long-time Associate Members and sponsors of the association.

Jeff Fishback with Purchasing Alliance Solutions awarded Kayci Crowe, Membership & Operations Specialist of the Pickens County Chamber of Comerce with one of their six scholarships to the 2016 GACCE Staff Development Conference.

Angela Smith, Director Chamber Development with the Americus-Sumter County Chamber and Vice Chair of Professional Development for GACCE, announced Denise M. Duncan, President of the Pickens County Chamber of Commerce as the recipient of one of two recipients to the 2015 ACCE Convention in Montreal, Canada.

GACCE congratulates all of our scholarship winners!