Optimist Club of Jasper Announces the 2018 PHS STAR Finalists


Optimist Club of Jasper Announces the 2018 PHS STAR Finalists

3/1/2018 ~ by Reeder Burch

The Optimist Club of Jasper, local sponsor for the STAR Program (Student Teacher Achievement Recognition) is pleased to recognize the 2018 PHS STAR Finalists.

For over 25 years the Optimists have recognized the PHS STAR Student and Teacher along with nine STAR Finalists with the largest and most unique local STAR Banquet in this statewide program. In the local program, the Optimists not only recognize the STAR Student and Teacher, but an additional nine STAR Student and Teacher Finalists.

The 2018 Star Finalists are:

Student | Teacher

Elizabeth Cohen | Christine Westbrook
Noah Coriell | Sharon McCoy
Christopher Couture | Rick Sells
Dalton Crowe | Kelly McArthur
Nick DiPuma | Todd Geren
Adam Massey | Sue Watters
Olivia Moore | Tonya Russo
Madeline Pool | Kathy Daymude
Anthony Weaver | Ted Estes

The PAGE (STAR) program, is administered and promoted by the Professional Association of Georgia Educators (PAGE). Since its inception in 1958 the STAR program has honored nearly 26,500 students and the teachers selected as the most influential to their academic achievement. To obtain the STAR nomination, high school seniors must have the highest score on a single test date on the three-part SAT and be in the top ten percent or top ten students of their class based on grade point average.

The Optimist Club of Jasper will recognize the 2018 STAR Finalists and their selected teachers along with the 2018 STAR Student, Hannah Ballard and her STAR Teacher - Ms. Lynn Cantrell, at the annual STAR Banquet on Tuesday evening, March 6, 2018. The banquet will be held at 7:00 p.m. at Chattahoochee Technical College, 100 Campus Drive, Jasper, Georgia. Anyone interested in attending the banquet should email the Optimist Club at pickensstar@etcmail.com Reservations are required and tickets are $25.00 per person. The Woodbridge Inn, who has catered the Optimist STAR program since the first banquet, will again cater this year’s banquet.

Dr. Kina S. Mallard, President of Reinhardt University, will be the guest speaker for this year’s banquet.